Clearing up the UMS

Problem

You have several firmware versions in the UMS. Your collection of clients and profiles has become large and confusing. You are losing track of assignments and connections between these elements.

Goal

You want to minimize the variety of firmware and profiles to simplify processes. You just want to see what you need.

The firmware, clients and profiles are interdependent. So, what is the best way to proceed?

Solution

The following are the main steps for reorganizing the UMS:

  1. Download the new firmware.
  2. Move clients to the new firmware.
  3. Move profiles to the new firmware.
  4. Delete old firmware, clients and profiles that are no longer required.

Downloading the new Firmware

  1. Check our download server myigel.biz to see whether there are new updates which are relevant for your applications.
  2. Download the relevant update files. Install an update directory for the files on the UMS server or on your FTP server.

    For more information see Best Practice: Firmware Update.

Moving Clients to the New Firmware

Find out, how many different firmware versions you really need.

Upgrading all clients to the same firmware:

  1. Create a new View to search for all clients using a firmware version older than the current version.

    Example:

View Name: Show all UD LX devices with old firmware

Rule: Product name is like (!reg!)(?i).*Universal Desktop LX.* AND Firmware version is less than 5.04.100

  1. Assign the update directory to these thin clients.
  2. Start the update process.

Moving Profiles to New Firmware

Examine your profiles and decide which of them are relevant for the new firmware. You have three possibilities you can do now:

Deleting old Firmware, Clients and Profiles that are no longer required

To finally clear up the UMS you now should delete obsolete objects.

Do you have also obsolete Views, Jobs, Template Keys? Delete them as well.

For Template Keys the Profile Relation is shown in the setting mask.

TextWe advice to make a back-up of the UMS, before deleting any components.

You can also use the UMS recycle bin for the deleted objects.